I’m currently in the process of making a local desktop app that allows local administrators to put the local server into SCOM Maintenance mode, without access to the SCOM consoles or any powershell knowledge.

During the process I encountered an issue. Every time I imported the OperationsManager module from Powershell, I could not establish a connection to the SCOM Management Group directly from the script – However, manually it went just fine!

$mgmtserver = ‘name of management server fqdn’

Import-Module \\PATH TO OperationsManager Module
New-SCOMManagementGroupConnection -Computername

This is an example of the code in the script, but every time i ran the code – I received the “The Data Access service is either not running or not yet initialized. I tried alot of different stuff to fix it, and I felt like I just kept banging my head against the wall until I found a blogpost regarding a network load balancer through powershell…

Import-Module \\PATH TO OperationsManager Module
Start-OperationsManagerClientShell -managementServerName “servername”

When running this code, the connection to SCOM was established, and I could start running SCOM cmdlets.

I this can help, or atleast save you all from banging your head against the wall.

One thought on “The Data Access service is either not running or not yet initialized

Leave a Reply

